Presidents Cup 2019

Presidents Cup 2019 :  The 2019 Presidents Cup will be the 13th time the Presidents Cup is played. It pits teams of professional male golfers representing the United States against an International side.

When: Dec. 12-15, 2019
Where: Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Black Rock, Victoria, Australia
Tickets: View the Tickets section on for info and prices.

This will mark the third time the Presidents Cup has taken place in Australia. The two previous times, with the final scores:

2011 Presidents Cup: USA 19, International 15
1998 Presidents Cup: International 20.5, USA 11.5

The 1998 tournament was the first one won by Team International and, through 2015, the only International victory.

For results of all previous matches, see the Presidents Cup Results page.
Teams and Team Selection for the 2019 Presidents Cup

The team rosters for the tournament are this:

United States: Justin Thomas, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Cantlay, Xander Schauffele, Webb Simpson, Matt Kuchar, Bryson DeChambeau, Gary Woodland, Tony Finau, Patrick Reed, Tiger Woods, Rickie Fowler
International: Marc Leishman, Hideki Matsuyama, Louis Oosthuizen, Adam Scott, Abraham Ancer, Li Haotong, Cheng-tsung Pan, Cameron Smith, Adam Hadwin, Sungjae Im, Joaquin Niemann, Byeong Hun An

Both sides in the cup – Team USA and Team International – select most of their players via points lists, with several spots reserved for captain’s picks.

The specific mix of automatic qualifiers and captain’s picks often changes from cup to cup, but the formula in use at the 2019 Presidents Cup is this:

Team USA: The top eight players on the points list (based on PGA Tour money list) are automatic qualifiers; the American captain adds four captain’s pick.
Team International: The top eight players from the Official World Golf Ranking are automatic qualifiers; the International captain adds four captain’s picks.


Day 1 Fourballs

Tiger Woods/Justin Thomas, USA def. Joaquin Niemann/Marc Leishman, International, 4 and 3
Sungjae Im/Adam Hadwin, International def. Patrick Cantlay/Xander Schauffele, USA, 1-up
Byeong Hun An/Adam Scott, International def. Tony Finau/Bryson DeChambeau, USA, 2 and 1
C.T. Pan/Hideki Matsuyama, International def. Patrick Reed/Webb Simpson, USA, 1-up
Louis Oosthuizen/Abraham Ancer, International def. Gary Woodland/Dustin Johnson, USA, 4 and 3

Day 2 Foursomes

Adam Scott/Louis Oosthuizen, International, vs. Matt Kuchar/Dustin Johnson, USA
Joaquin Niemann/Adam Hadwin, International, vs. Patrick Cantlay/Xander Schauffele, USA
Abraham Ancer/Marc Leishman, International, vs. Patrick Reed/Webb Simpson, USA
Hideki Matsuyama/Byeong Hun An, International, vs. Tiger Woods/Justin Thomas, USA
Cameron Smith/Sungjae Im, International, vs. Rickie Fowler/Gary Woodland, USA

Team Captains

There is some major star power in the captain’s chair for the 2019 Presidents Cup: Tiger Woods for Team USA and Ernie Els for Team International. The two friends and rivals were longtime players in this event. For each of them, it will be their first time serving as team captain (although both have experience as assistant captains).

Steve Stricker (Team USA) and Nick Price (Team International) were captains in 2017. See our Presidents Cup captains page for the list of all previous captains in this competition.
2019 Presidents Cup Format

The Presidents Cup uses a 4-day, 34-match format that includes sessions of foursomes, fourball and singles match play.

On Day 1, six matches of either foursomes or fourballs are played; on Day 2, six matches of the format not used on Day 1 take place. So on the first two days, all 12 members of each side have to play.
On Day 3, 10 matches total are played, five foursomes and five fourballs. (Which goes first – foursomes or fourballs – is determined by the home-team captain, as is the order on days 1 and 2.)
On Day 4, 12 singles matches wrap up the competition. If the score winds up tied at the end of play, the Presidents Cup is halved and the team are co-champions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *